RASA Membership Guidelines

(Approved by the RASA Board on 01.07.2025)

Section A. Members:

The association consists of three categories of members: Ordinary Members, Associate Members, and Honorary Members.

1. Ordinary Members

Ordinary members must meet the following criteria:

- Support the purposes of the organization.
- Be lawful residents of any country except countries and territories under comprehensive sanctions administered by the U.S. Department of the Treasury's Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC).
- Pay their membership dues as established by the Board Directors, unless the payment is waived or reduced by the Board of Directors or a Membership Committee.
- Ordinary membership is valid for one year and is renewable upon payment of the dues.
- Membership and the voting rights will be suspended if the individual fails to renew within two months of receiving the renewal request. The suspended Ordinary Member can be reclassified to an Associate Member or terminated (see Section E).

Ordinary members have the following rights and responsibilities:

- To be elected as directors or any other position within the association.
- To nominate directors and members of the coordinating committee.
- To attend annual or special meetings in person, via electronic means or designate a Proxy.
- To vote at the annual or special meeting in writing, by letter, or by e-mail, provided such a vote is received by the beginning of the meeting. Each member has one vote.

2. Associate Members

• Any individual or association approved by the Board of Directors, based on the recommendation of a Board-designated Membership Committee,

can be designated as an Associate Member. Associate members do not have voting rights and do not pay membership dues.

• An Ordinary Member who becomes unresponsive to the association, such as failing to pay membership dues, may be reclassified as an Associate Member without voting privileges, unless their membership has been terminated in accordance with Section E. In such cases, this member's Ordinary Member status can be reinstated upon the payment of outstanding dues, given that they were previously an Ordinary Member.

3. Honorary Members

Individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Association's mission can be nominated for honorary membership. Nominations can be made by the President, any board member, or the Membership Committee, and must be approved by a majority of the Board of Directors. Laureates of the RASA George Gamow[®] award are automatically granted honorary membership. Honorary membership is a lifetime distinction. There are no membership dues or voting rights associated with the honorary membership status. Honorary members can also hold the status of Ordinary members, pay regular dues and vote in accordance to their status.

Section B. Member Rights and Responsibilities:

All members are eligible to receive all communications on RASA activities and participate in all RASA events. They can participate in the organization of the RASA Annual scientific conference and suggest speakers for this conference or other scientific meetings. They can nominate new Ordinary Members by sending to the Membership Committee or President a CV of their nominee and a letter for consideration. They can nominate individuals for the RASA George Gamow® award by sending requested materials to the Gamow[®] award committee. They can voice any disagreements or grievances to the RASA President, the Board of Directors, CEO or the Coordinating Committee.

Section C: Membership Committee and Process:

The RASA Membership Committee is appointed by the Board of Directors for a term of two (2) years, which can be renewed. The committee is composed of at least two individuals, with the provision for additional members to be added by the Board of Directors at any time. All committee members must be association members in good standing. The responsibilities of the Membership Committee are as follows:

- 1. Maintaining an up-to-date list of Ordinary, Associate, and Honorary Members.
- 2. **Receiving and reviewing nominations** from ordinary or associate members, or self-nominations, and making decisions on the acceptance of new members. A new member can either self-nominate or be nominated by an existing RASA member.
- 3. **Making recommendations** to the Directors for the selection of new Honorary Members. However, RASA George Gamow[®] awardees are automatically granted the title.
- 4. **Recruiting and expanding** RASA membership. The committee can solicit applications from potential new members.
- 5. **Distributing Certificates of Membership** to all new Ordinary and Honorary Members, and at any other time upon individual request.
- 6. **Making recommendations** to the Directors about membership procedures, including but not limited to, amending, or changing the current regulations.

Section E. Termination of Membership.

Membership in RASA may be terminated under the following circumstances:

- 1. **Voluntary Resignation:** A member may choose to resign from the Association at any time. To do so, the member must notify the Association of their intention to resign.
- 2. **Non-payment of Membership Dues**: For Ordinary Member that fails to pay the membership within two months of receiving the renewal request, see Section 1. If an Ordinary Member refuses to pay the required membership dues and these dues are not waived by the Association, the membership will be reclassified to an Associate Member or terminated.
- 3. **Termination by the Board:** The Board of Directors reserves the right to terminate a member's membership. This can occur if two-thirds of the Board, in a duly called meeting, determines that the member is not in alignment with the Association's objectives, has misappropriated Association funds for personal use, or has committed a criminal offense.

Upon termination of membership, regardless of the reason, the Association will send a letter to the former member confirming the termination. This ensures clear communication and official documentation of the membership status change.

Section F. Composition of the Membership Committee (2025)

- Chair: Lyuba Varticovski
- Co-Chair: Anna Krylov
- Member at large Sergei Erofeev